The Thankful November: Haroun And The Sea Of Stories by Salman Rushdie

haroun

On this second day, I wanted to take some time out be thankful
that I came across the fifth novel by acclaimed – and infamous –
author Salman Rushdie, Haroun And The Sea Of Stories. It was
one of those chance moments when I first spotted the copy of
the book I have now, with the same cover as you see above. I
was over by West 8th Street in Greenwich Village, and saw a
guy selling books for cheap.  I glanced over and saw the cover
and was immediately drawn to it. I think I paid about 4 bucks for
it. I went along to the subway for the trek back home, and began
to read and soon realized it was one of those tomes I couldn’t put
down. And since then, I’ve always delighted in reading the book
several times over. As much as it is deemed a children’s book, it
has a lot to offer adults who are interested.

This book follows the story of young Haroun Khalifa in a city so old
and sad that it has completely forgotten its own name. That’s how it
opens – that line jars you into attention. Haroun is the son of Rashid
Khalifa, master storyteller renowned worldwide, and Soraya Khalifa.
A tragic situation throws the Khalifa household into chaos, and young
Haroun has to deal with Soraya having left he and Rashid. Rashid is
unconsolable, even unable to tell stories. It’s a trip to another city at
the behest of a corrupt politician that puts Haroun and Rashid in the
midst of a magical journey that would change them both dramatically.
Rushdie draws upon several influences to make the book thoroughly
rich and compelling. As you read on, you find yourself immersed in a
delicately crafted world that illustrates love, hope and courage against
the impossible that gives you a great deal of hope. I could see this
tale being a wonderful movie, so long as it isn’t watered down or
changed rudely to take away any of the many influences from the
Hindi tradition or the Urdu language that are present. I’m glad to have
read this book, because it reminds me of the power that stories have
in our lives. It reminds me of the magic that lies in the words, magic
that we ourselves can embody in our own lives if we recognize it. Go
check out Haroun And The Sea Of Stories when you can, it’s available
on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

